Home > Life > Hey Delta, is it this hard to find an iPad?

Hey Delta, is it this hard to find an iPad?

So this post is a bit of a rant more than anything, so for the three regular readers of this blog feel free to skip over this post. I promise to make this foray a brief one.

I made a blunder on my flight home from Atlanta to Akron/Canton Airport a few weeks ago; I left my lovely, SugarCRM logo and my name engraved iPad safely in it’s case in the seat pocket of seat 3A. D’oh!

I realized this the moment I got home, and being a bit of a snow storm decided it not prudent to risk life and limb to return to the airport. Calling the airport informing them of this, they took my name and number as said they would ask the Delta desk about this. Being my self driven self, I started tracing the plane, and saw it was doing a CAK-ATL-CAK-ATL-OMA run that day, so figured it would end up in one of CAK, ATL, or OMA ( Omaha for those who aren’t as familiar with airport codes ).

So I went back to the airport at CAK, and they didn’t have it ( but had another iPad someone lost on a plane ), and called OMA, which didn’t see it either. My guess is that it’s in ATL, but low and behold, THERE IS NO NUMBER TO CALL ABOUT DELTA LOST AND FOUND AT ATLANTA. That’s right, nobody to call and ask, nor anyone I could be transfered to that will call there and ask. What do they want you to do? Fill out a web form and hope for the best. Which I did, and all I am left with is hope :-(.

So my call to the blogosphere and twittersphere is this: short of going down to Atlanta and stalking the Lost and Found desk, who can I call to help me.

Categories: Life
  1. February 2, 2012 at 10:54 am

    sorry about your iPad; something similar happened to my Bose headphones a few months ago.
    Most airlines only offer a voice mailbox or fax number or email address for lost items – it sometimes takes time to find and identify an item, and they probably do want to protect their employees from people calling every 30 minutes ;)
    Given that your item does have some value, I am afraid the same thing might have happened as with my headphones: either the cleaning crew or the next passenger were happy to keep them. Still hope you’ll eventually get the item back!

  2. February 2, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    Thanks Christian. My only hope is the engravings on the back make it stand out and make someone feel it is secretly being tracked by SugarCRM ;-).

    But yeah, I do get why having a call line for an airport with over 1000 departures on Delta alone a day could be a bit overwhelming, but I was really hoping my Diamond status could come in handy here in getting a few favors. Guess not :-(.

  3. Irritated with Delta
    March 1, 2012 at 11:55 am

    Unfortunately the same thing happened to me on a Delta flight. I have emailed Delta multiple times with no response. I was hoping to find on line somebody who had had success retrieving their valuables from Delta. I was told the crew checked “every seat” after “every destination”! If that is true then they could have easily found it. Mine is also engraved & easily identifiable. Good luck!

  4. March 1, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    So I wanted to give everyone an update on a happy ending to this story….

    I am on my way back home thru ATL, so I took an earlier connection flight from RDU so I would have time to take a visit to the Delta ATL Lost and Found. Headed over to the SP Baggage Service counter, where the nice agent took the serial number of my iPad and made a call down to Lost and Found. Low and behold, it was there! I went over to Lost and Found to claim it, and now it’s sitting next to me in the T7 Sky Club charging back up.

    So a few lessons I learned in the process:

    – Don’t forget you iPad on an airplane ( pretty obvious now ;-) )
    – Keep a record of the serial number of your devices, as this is how ATL tracks the items. For Apple products, once you register it you can find it pretty easily in the ‘My Support Profile’ page ( Google around for links to it ). Also, when submitting a L&F claim form, be sure to include the serial number for you device.
    – Apple does have a way to let law enforcement track your device being registered by someone else, so do a police report and then the officer can report it to Apple. Again, it only comes up on their radar if it’s been re-activated by someone else.
    – Lock your iPad down, and if it’s a Wifi one put a few common AP names in it ( like Linksys and Belkin ) which give it more chances to call home.
    – Going to the L&F in person is much more effective than over the phone or the web form. If you think your device made it to ATL, go there to find it.

    Thanks again to everyone for your help and advice, I truly appreciate it.

  5. Laptop lost on Delta
    September 17, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    Hi, John. Unfortunately I just had a similar experience like you (however, you retrieved your ipad, congratulations!).

    I left my Sony laptop on the plane during a Delta flight from Detroit to Washington Reagan last night. I didn’t notice :( that until I got back to my apartment in College Park, Maryland.

    I completed a “lost item form” on Delta’s website. They said they would contact me if they find my laptop. However, there is no tracking system for the lost item. All I can do is wait, wait, and wait. So I went to the Delta Baggage Service in Washington Reagan and was told “no laptop here”. (I’m typing these words in Reagan airport right now)

    I thought there might be certain possibilities that the cleaning crew didn’t find the laptop (I put it on the seatback and it’s quite thin), then my laptop took another flight with the aircraft. I met a nice guy at the front desk and he told me the aircraft I took was landed at Atlanta one hour ago, so I tried to contact Atlanta airport for my lost laptop. No one answers. The lost&found website doesn’t work either.

    I was desperate, so I tried google and found your post. May I ask if you have any numbers of the crew members in the lost&found office (Atlanta) that I can contact directly with? Thank you very much for your experience, it helps me a lot!

    • September 17, 2012 at 8:33 pm

      Sorry to hear about your iPad loss as well. My situation seems all too familar, as I also was all the way home and then thought “Crap! I left my iPad on the plane!”.

      As I found out the annoying way, there is no direct number for L&F in Atlanta. Your best bet with Atlanta lost and found is to physically go to the Atlanta airport, exit security, and head to the Delta baggage office across from the baggage carosels. Make sure you have your serial number for your iPad for them to look it up by, as that’s the only way they cross reference the iPads by.

      Don’t fear, as they said there are over 100 iPads in L&F in Atlanta at any given time, so there’s a good chance it made it’s way there. Best of luck to you!

      • Laptop lost on Delta
        September 17, 2012 at 8:46 pm

        Thx a lot! However, what I lost is a laptop, and I didn’t remember its serial number (its printed on the back of it). OMG. Anyway, thank you for your advice! :)

  6. Margaret
    February 12, 2013 at 9:37 am

    I left my dslr camera on a flight. I am now attempting to get it back. I have very little hope. The only positive is that I can now buy a new camera if I can’t find my old one. I pity those who lose something that is of great value to them. I am glad that I can afford to replace my camera and that it didn’t have something valuable on it like honeymoon photos. Delta really stinks in this regard. Hardly anyone gets their stuff back.

  7. Damantina RUmbaugh
    March 16, 2013 at 11:45 am

    March 14, 2013 Lost my black carrier on baggoing from imgration elevator to the transit train, It has old shoes blowdryer Cancun Mexico broshures, old make up, Books and some gives my handicalp son purchase for himself, also my car keys. Please if you found it, return it to Delta and God Blessed.

  8. Mitch
    March 25, 2013 at 5:55 pm

    I managed to leave a tablet on Alaska and filled out their form. Over a month went by and they had finally gotten it through the system to finally call me. It may take a long time

  9. Freya
    March 28, 2013 at 2:32 am

    Seems that nothing has changed. My grandson left his iPod in the seat pocket. He remembered while they were still at the airport and the supervisor refused to call and and check the seat pocket though the plane was still there. Seems a bit mean to make him fill out a form and then there is no way to check what happened. Did anyone get anything returned ?

  10. Tom
    March 31, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    I lost my Smartphone- Samsung Galaxy Note- at Raleigh somewhere between TSA and Delta Gate today for a flight to Memphis, (eventually SLC). I called TSA RDU Coordination Center where you can call within the first 24 hours: (919) 468-4053 but they had no record of a phone turned in. They gave me a backline to RDU police lost and found. Police open m-f, 8-5. Call lost and found at (919) 840-7553 and wait till after noon for them to clear weekend/evening stuff.
    Hope this helps someone, I’m having no luck so far. Hope you all get your items back!

  11. Dan in Vegas
    June 3, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    We left an Ipad in seatback pocket of Seat 2A on a 757 between DTW and LAS back on 3/12/13. Called and not found at airport. Went to the airport since Delta’s system is horrible. We have filed 4 claims a day since then complete with Serial Number of unit (2 colors and 2 destinations) with nothing from Delta. We check the status daily on the Ipad and it has not been turned on since it was placed in the pocket back in March. So much for being a preferred customer!

    • Dan in Vegas
      August 30, 2013 at 6:46 am

      We had a connection through ATL yesterday and went to Delta L&F only to be told that items are sent to a different location not at the airport. Gave us another telephone number which of course just told you to file an online claim. No luck at ATL plus when we got to PVD found they had demolished one of our bags.

  12. Lavern
    June 8, 2013 at 7:30 am

    Lost Sony Camcorder on Delta flight 430 in row 37. if anyone finds it please email lmiguel18@yahoo.com it was left on June 7 between Puerto Rico and Altanta flight.

  13. June 22, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    Rattling nice style and style and good content material materials , absolutely nothing else we need : D.

  14. Liz cleveland
    July 6, 2013 at 7:08 pm

    I was given this no.for DL lost and found in Atlanta. 4045302100 hours 9-5 mon – fri.

    • Dan in Vegas
      July 9, 2013 at 11:45 am

      This number is for the Atlanta Airport lost and found, not Delta. They gave 2 numbers both which have recordings wanting you to use the online claim form.

  15. mirjam89
    July 23, 2013 at 9:08 am

    we lost a panasonic camera under the seat of the Delta Airline with the tail number N695DL on the 10. July. Our flight was from Las Vegas to the JFK Airport. I wrote to different Airports the airplane flew next and also to JFK. I filled in the Delta web form but of course didn’t hear anything. I did also different calls 3 days long. nothing. Do you have any idea what I can do now? is there any possibility to contact the different Delta lost and founds?

  16. Dan in Vegas
    August 6, 2013 at 11:17 am

    We will be changing flights with a layover in ATL at the end of the month. I plan to go to the L&F to see if our Ipad is there. LAS told us that they did not have it and everything they had found had been sent to ATL. I’ll post how that goes there.

    • mirjam89
      August 7, 2013 at 3:17 am

      can’t you ask them for a panasonic camrea too? :(

  17. douglas lewellen
    August 8, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    After reading the above comments I am not as hopeful in the finding and returning of a Canon power shot camera with 125 photos of a trip to England and France. I left it on Flight 242 from Paris to Boston on August 2.

    • Dan in Vegas
      August 8, 2013 at 3:37 pm

      Doug: If you can get to who handles L&F at Logan plus keep filing the online reports especially if you have a serial number for the camera. I think my old RI driver’s license is still inside a ticket counter at the old USAir when it vanished while paying to take a pet west with us! Made for fun times with TSA….

  18. August 20, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    I lost my iPad on a Delta flight too! I know it’s at ATL because it’s been a month and I’ve gotten Apple to confirm that the only Apple ID registered to my iPad’s serial number is my own. I would go down to ATL but i live in San Fran, CA. If anyone is ever in ATL and feels like doing a random act of kindess i’d love it!

    • Janet Wunderlich
      August 23, 2013 at 4:21 pm

      Elise… I left my small wallet (duh!) in the seatback pocket of a StL to ATL flight on Tuesday (20 AUG 13). I found this blog while I was trying (in vain) to find more info on how to track the flights forward destinations. In short… I’m headed back through ATL next Tuesday and plan to stop by the baggage service center to check for my wallet. I’d be happy to claim your iPad and return it to you if you pay the postage. Maybe if I do a good deed for you, someone will return the kindness and return my wallet to me. :0) Contact me if you like…
      Janet.wunderlich@us.army.mil

  19. Johnny
    August 27, 2013 at 6:14 am

    Make sure to also file a claim online at http://www.airportlostandfound.com

    • douglas lewellen
      August 27, 2013 at 11:19 am

      Will airport lost and found really refund money if item not found with 60 days? Doug

    • Doug lewellen
      August 29, 2013 at 10:58 pm

      Johnny: the lost and found website that you refer to sounds good. They offer to refund their fee that is paid up front, if they do not find the lost item. My concern is, will they follow through on that. Doug

  20. GK
    October 18, 2013 at 2:22 pm

    There is an almost zero percent chance of retrieving any item lost on Delta airlines. It’s is clear that the management of Delta Airlines does not have any effective process to ensure that their cleaners and staff do not steal items picked up from any aircraft. Very shameful!!!!!

  21. Ana
    January 11, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    Earlier today I flew from Atlanta to Syracuse on flight 4876 which left at 9:30 AM when I realized I left my ipad mini in the flight I immediately went back to the Syracuse Airport but was told that the flight had left back to Atlanta and there was nothing I can do. I have placed the ipad in lost mode from my iphone but it cannot be located because it is on airplane mode from when I had it on the flight. I have a feeling my iPad is in Atlanta but after reading the posts above I have very little hope. Unfortunately I go to school in Syracuse and doubt I will ever be flying through atlanta again :( … any suggestions? I’m dying here, my ipad was only 2 weeks old!

  22. Jasmine Freytag
    January 12, 2014 at 3:24 pm

    All of sudden, I remember my camera that was lost last year 2 August in the airplane when my husband and I took the flight back from Alaska. Inside the camera bag has the receipt of the car rental that was with all our personal information. Eg, phone number and address, etc also, It’s not just the camera, it was our honeymoon trip pictures with all the unforgettable memories. When I thought of it today, it still hurt me so much. It was a connection flight from Alaska airport to LA, eventually the flight was to Zürich. We had filed the airport Lost and found for twice. Whenever I call the delta airline, it’s always with the machine replies. I also filed the report and paid the fees for this airport lost and found company (http://www.airportlostandfound.com) however there’s no news till now, I wrote several emails to them and no ones reply me. Called them but no one answer. I was so desperately with seemingly no one can really help me!
    I was really disappointed with the airline and also the airportlostandfound company. Can anyone tell me is there any ways that I can contact them? Thanks for your help, it really means a lot to me for those pictures.

  23. Shirley criscillis
    January 20, 2014 at 7:52 pm

    I have endured two similar experiences with delta’s customer no service for articles lost on a plane. Did you know Delta outsources its plane cleaning requirements? Best I can tell the odds are slim and none that our articles ever were taken to lost and found.

    But if they did go there, Delta only has one person working the list of claims. You might try the unclaimed baggage store in scottsboro alabama … Delta probably already sold it to them.

    Here’s the phone number if you still want to call them though … 800-325-8224

  24. Matt
    June 17, 2014 at 11:50 am

    I am also realizing that the plane cleaning business is a game of losers weepers. What a scam. I asked the gate attendant to please ask a flight attendant to retrieve my $230 Maui Jim sunglasses only to be shut down,” I am not going to do .” There are in the pocket in 1D, i just got off the plane and made immediate report. Good find for a cleaning crew or gate attendant. All avenues of recourse were quickly routed to the eather. claim made, timed out , claim forgotten. ” We are not responsible for lost or stolen items.” Even when it is delta employees or contractors, doing the stealing. Nice racket.

  25. November 18, 2014 at 1:34 am

    If you want to increase your experience only keep visiting this web page and be updated with the newest news posted here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 969 other followers

